Hello, Internet

After a few days without it, I’ve returned to the internet feeling very happy. I had a great time at Christmas celebrations with both sides of the family. My Uncle Pete cooked us a feast on Christmas Eve, and Dani put her chef skills to work on Christmas. I gave out tins of cookies to each family unit, drew a manly chest for the Christmas Pirate, and generally had a great time.

And I can see that the internet has been busy while I’ve been away, having a life like I don’t normally do. While I’m catching up, I’d like to share some of the internet’s awesomeness.

Angry Birds Peace Treaty

Dinosaur Comics 12/24/2010

“EXHAUSTION FROM HAVING SEX WITH A MINOR”, by Yahtzee Croshaw: The podcast of the story from the anthology Machine of Death: A Collection of Stories About People Who Know How They Will Die, read by the author. Sarah was unwittingly one of the first to get Machine of Death in stores, rather than off Amazon or Topatoco. While I wish I could have bought it on MOD Day (when it hit #1 on Amazon through pure word of mouth, with the awesome side effect of pissing off Glenn Beck), I was very happy to receive it from my little sister for Christmas. I was also pleased to note that the slip inside the book contained not only my death prediction (“GIFT RECEIPT”), but also the place of said death (“BORDERS BOOKS MUSIC AND CAFE Mt. Prospect, IL”).

My Little NON-Homophobic, NON-Racist, NON-Smart-Shaming Pony: A Rebuttal: I found “My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic” through the /co/ board on 4chan, and I fell in love with it. Excellent animation, voice-work, and yes, my inner feminist rejoiced to see the female characters as characters first, not stereotypical girls. It embodies feminist ideals without overdoing it – I only noticed because I’ve spent my life reading media as a feminist. (Yes, yes, cue the “feminist =/= /co/mrade” argument.) In the article, Lauren Faust puts forth the ideas she was trying to put into the show, and I do believe she has succeeded.

White Wine in the Sun: Via Neil Gaiman. I’m agnostic, so I sometimes feel embarrassed at how much I still enjoy Christmas. As Tycho put it in Penny Arcade, it feels like going to the party, refusing to acknowledge that they exist, and then robbing their house. But is that my only choice? To be a Tycho or to be effectively assimilated into the prominent religion? Well… no. I played this song to my family on Christmas. My parents were fairly unmoved; Sarah wrinkled up her face and said “It’s weird”. But Dani just looked at me and said, “It’s about Ashley.” And it is.

Oh hell. While I’m at it, I might as well belatedly share my other go-to feel-good Christmas thing: http://lordmookie.livejournal.com/65334.html By the by, Dani got me a GL hat for Christmas. Do I have the best sisters or what? Rhetorical question. I do.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

