Multiversing Strength of the Fallen

NaNo’s coming up quick, and to celebrate I thought I’d do a post a day on the projects I’ve got to look forward to. First up, Strength of the Fallen.

The plot: the S’riellan (translated as “the Fallen”) are the super-powered soldiers of the elves. But one morning, a S’riellan war hero named Minrei wakes up to find her strength, speed, and senses are those of a regular elf.

SotF is probably my favorite of the three NaNo projects.  It’s got a lot more going on than the stories I usually write, in that Minrei is not a predestined hero, nor a powerful rookie. Rather, Minrei is a physically-strong woman turned weak, an experienced fighter now reliant on smarts and creativity, and a fugitive from a government founded on conspiracies.

I reread the initial draft as prep for NaNo. Predictably, the writing became less well-thought-out as I went through it. I could tell when I started getting desperate for higher word counts, since I stopped using contractions and started adding notes about which swear words to use. (SotF was apparently written after watching Firefly, because I had decided to swear in Fijian. I now regret that decision. It’s too obvious.)

Basically, in the 88 page document, anything after page 40 might get cut. I’ve made a few plot-altering decisions for the coming NaNo already. A big one is that I’m cutting the romance bit that occurs in the last half. It doesn’t fit, and makes Minrei seem emotionally-weaker than I want her to be.

The other big change is that I’m making SotF part of 3PF canon – and by extension, Multiversed. When I first thought up Minrei, I used a similar worldbuilding premise to the one I used in 3PF. If you’re interested in an explanation, you can find it below the cut.

You’re still with me? Okay. This gets a little complicated, but bear with me.

In 3PF, the fae folk lived in a world not unlike our own. Magic and magical creatures abound, but also a race of singularly pesky beings called humans. Iron and metal nullifies magic, so the fae leave Earth to the humans, creating their own parallel universe to live in. By the time 3PF’s story takes place, the fae have been living there for centuries.

In SotF, the exact same thing is true – except the fae are replaced with elves, the created homeworld was made flat. There’s a difference in magic, too, since SotF elves make use of iron-spells instead of elemental, innate ones. But even so, it’s always bothered me that the worlds are so similar.

Multiversed actually solves this problem, since it makes use of the Many Worlds theory* and therefore excuses SotF’s lack of originality by passing it off as an alternate universe of 3PF. However, the plot of SotF makes a lot of sense as a distant future of 3PF/Multiversed, where the innate magic is lost, the Laguna Noiah (a pantheon of fae gods) have long since disappeared into the ether, and S’riellan have appeared seemingly from nowhere. By combining the worlds, I solve a few plot points in SotF as well.

Of course, by even marginally incorporating Strength of the Fallen into the amalgam canon that is Multiversed, I only increase the similarities to CLAMP’s Tsubasa. (Frakking hell.) Areopagus and Spyder, Spyder – while admittedly part of the Ashley’s-stories multiverse – thankfully have no connection to the plot of Multiversed at all.

.

.

.

* With some twists. Oh, I could go on and on about how seers aren’t really looking into their own future but into that of an alternate world, or how the existence of multiverse travelers necessitates a “many multiverses” theory… I love worldbuilding, can you tell? :3

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

