Semester of OMGWTFBBQ

This is my last semester at Drake. I’m a senior now, and everything’s winding up. I’m taking my last computer science class, my last two English classes, and a couple of others I thought sounded interesting (“‘History of Punishment and Evil’? Hells yes!”). Despite my not-so-rigorous class selection method, I will not be resting on my laurels this semester. No no no. These classes are going to be tough, homeslice. Lots of reading, writing, and *gasps* speaking up in class.

And that’s not all. Within this semester I must complete two capstone projects, two gift arts, and a shiny new version of the Writing Workshop website. At the beginning of every semester, I’ve said that I will push myself to do more out of class, to write everyday, to work on a project every Friday. I never have. Look at how many times I’ve promised to keep this blog going, only to abandon it when the semester got tough.

That’s not to say I won’t fail this time, too. It’s happened before, after all. But unlike previous semesters, I absolutely must push myself this semester. The capstones can’t be put off, nor the gifts, nor the website. I have to plan ahead, make lists, keep from procrastinating. And though I don’t think the process will be interesting for very many people, this blog will help me keep track, keep a level head. I’ll post when and what I can.

Semester-long commitments:

  • CS capstone (as-yet-unnamed computer game): I’m trying to figure out plot and aesthetics and whether or not I can use Smalltalk to make it work. This is definitely the one project that makes me feel I might’ve bitten off more than I can chew. I have to start working on it immediately, before fear paralyzes me and procrastination takes over.
  • Writing capstone (Multiversed comic script): An excuse to draw more concept art, partially. ;D  I’m looking forward to working through the plot. I also like that I don’t have to spend tons of time drawing the comics themselves – I really don’t have the time for that this semester.
  • Dan’s gift art: Shhh. It’s a secret! Suffice to say I have most of the references, I just need to sit down and draw it! Biiig plus side to this project – it can be drawn a little at a time.
  • Sarah’s gift art: No idea if Sarah reads this blog, but just in case… Shhh, it’s a secret! This requires a bit more work than Dan’s gift. I will need to practice 3-point perspective, drawing detailed buildings, and… girls in swimsuits. Ah me, life is hard. 😛  Small comfort to this project – if I do this right, it will be the most epic-ly awesome thing I’ve ever drawn. Yes, even beating that one. Less of a comfort – if I do this right, I won’t want to give it to Sarah at all…
  • Writing Workshop website: I spent tonight making sure I can test the HTML and CGI files now that I’m running Ubuntu instead of Windows. Kyle’s recalibrated and up for the challenge. Next up is to play with the code, making the site user-friendly and a heck of a lot more aesthetically pleasing. I have a list of a functions I want to add, but a lot of this is going to be just seeing what looks nice. I want the new site put up during Spring Break so I’m there if anything goes wrong while it’s in action. (Also so that no one complains their appointment got lost in transition.)
  • Thank you cards: What for Christmas presents. I need to draw something to put on the front, otherwise I wouldn’t dare list this alongside the capstones and website.
  • Start flossing again: Speaks for itself, I think. 😛
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

