The Mad Scientist War

Wheeee~! I was just going to post about my week – been out of Des Moines and around, going a bit crazy. BUT! New plan! I can now post about my Epic Picture. It really is the most epic thing I’ve ever drawn, and it took me maybe two weeks to finish. It was a secret request from Professor Zobot for his Mad Scientist Wars chapter, and now he’s posted it, and I can post about his post! You can find it here. The picture is so much better when paired with Zobot’s introduction to Chapter 15, Act 2. Seriously. Go check it out. And, if you haven’t yet, take a peek through the archives. They won’t bite! (But they may nom your free time, fair warning.)

Have you read Zobot’s post yet? Don’t worry, I’ll wait.

…You’ve read it? Good.

As I said, this picture took a looong time to do. I did know what I was getting into, though, and I honestly can’t complain (nor do I want to). Zobot asked for a number of pictures, and I could choose which ones I wanted to do. I did two of those ideas – the one he wanted most, and the one I wanted most. The one I wanted most was this one. The crowd scene. Zobot asked for “a bunch miscillanious of Mad Scientists fighting each other or just acting kinda crazy on a city street while Dixie De’ville stands in front of them, nervously reporting.” While he was right saying that artists hate crowd scenes, I also love them. I always wanted to do something with a “Where’s Waldo” type feel, but my art skills were never good enough.

So I decided to try it, and was rewarded. The scene’s nowhere near as busy as I initially pictured it, but there’s a number of small touches that I’m especially happy with, many of which were cut out when I added Dixie to the foreground, or when I reduced the size of the final picture. You can find the finalized version of the crowd scene (without Dixie) here. Beware! It’s a large file! So big that Photobucket automatically reduced its size, and I had to upload it to WordPress instead. But it’s the best size if you want to read all the text that got blurred in the final version.

Also, I kept a bunch of scans of my progress, knowing that even details of the crowd scene would be lost through inking. I won’t post all of them, but here‘s an animation of those scans, showing how the picture was put together. Again, large file alert!

…As you might be able to tell, I’m really proud of this picture, entitled “The Mad Sci War.” I have to thank Zobot for asking me to do this – I can’t tell you how honored I feel. Having a large, intricate scene come out so successfully is a reward in itself, but having it paired with Zobot’s writing was especially satisfying.

|3 I’m so incredibly happy right now…! But I should probably finish unpacking, before I float away on the breeze. More on my trip later!

  1. #1 by Zobot on August 30, 2009 - 4:50 pm

    Eee!

    Thanks for the high honor. I appreciate that you hold me in such high esteem!

    • #2 by probablefutures on September 20, 2009 - 11:58 pm

      You’re very welcome! *hugs*

  1. Semester of OMGWTFBBQ « Dreams To Wake Up To

Leave a Reply

