Should Be Embarrassed Week: One unusual garden gnome

Happy 100th post! To celebrate, this week shall be deemed ‘Should Be Embarrassed Week,’ and all pictures posted shall demonstrate that my brain can be a very strange place to be. We kick things off with this quick sketch:

This may be one of my favorite quick sketches ever because of its quirkiness, but I have no idea where the idea came from. I was idly wondering if I should put a garden gnome in Robin Fenner’s backyard (for the comic Multiversed)… then next thing I knew I had an index card out and a few tabs open for Hindu- and gnome-related research.

I also started using white-out to fix inking mistakes. It makes for an ugly physical copy, but you can’t tell the difference in a scan! Everybody wins.

Speaking of inking, I’ve decided to try out different inking methods in the future. At the end of the week, I will start to do so. I’m nervous about it – I don’t have the steadiest hand for inking, and it takes forever even with the Micron pens I’m used to. At the same time, I’m excited to branch out. Practice makes perfect, right?

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment