Or I could just have someone hit me on the back of the head with a frying pan

I’ve been having problems getting to sleep recently. This isn’t new. I go for weeks being afraid to sleep (too much to do, etc.), then I get exhausted and spend weeks unable to get enough sleep. This time, though, I can’t sleep because I have a Shiny New Story Idea.

The story idea itself isn’t new, either. For about a year, I’ve been extending the storyline every night before I fall asleep. A few weeks ago, something changed: something clicked and the story suddenly seemed like a good project. And, just when I was getting excited about mapping it all out, the story decided it wanted to be a comic.

Yes. “A comic.”

It’s a good time for it, I guess. “Cathy Queen of Evil” was put on hold while I worked on my art skills. I can draw people pretty well now, and there’s no doubt I have a fairly consistent style. But a part of me wants to hold back on this idea too. I’m too much of a procrastinator; my backgrounds suck; and what about drawing things that aren’t people?

These are all valid worries.

And yet… And yet I’ve already done the greater part of two character sheets. I could never do that with “Cathy,” since it was so much of a struggle to get bodies to look right, much less consistent. Maybe if I’d been able to, “Cathy” would have been a comic by now. But this new idea… I can see the characters coming to life as I draw them. It’s an epiphany such as I’ve never felt before. Not even with my baby, “Past, Present and Probable Future.” I never got to see Laura, Damien and Val. I never saw the way they moved, the way they held themselves. I hate to admit it… but I don’t have that good of an imagination.

The funny thing about seeing the characters come to life, is that I want to see them keep living. And that means finishing the character sketches and just starting the comic, regardless of the skill I wish I had. Others have created good comics with less skill than I have, and many have had their art evolve with their stories.

So why am I having trouble falling asleep? Because starting a comic is something I’m scared to do. Because starting this comic is something I have to do. Because I’m heading into uncharted territory for me, and I am as excited as I am nervous.

I still have character sketches to do, and some basic plotting. I’m not going to say much more about this new project… not yet. Save for one thing: the story will be called “Multiversed.” (No link. I’ll put up a page for it once I have something to show.)

More later.

  1. #1 by Zobot on July 10, 2009 - 4:09 pm

    Hey, I look forward to seeing what you come up with! It’s always exciting to see a writer try their hand at a creative project. “Multiversed” sounds like a really interesting name for a comic project. I’ll be watching your blog with much interest.

    And I wish you the best of luck, and the strongest of determination. I want to let you know that I know you can do this. Do your best, and I’ll be here watching from the sidelines and cheering you on, ok?

    Of course, that reminds me, I have my OWN projects to get to work on, too!

  2. #2 by probablefutures on July 10, 2009 - 8:44 pm

    Thank yooou! I should have stuff to show soon – character sheets, non-spoiler notes, and such.

Leave a Reply

