The things I don’t carry

I forgot about this habit of mine. When I come home from college, I’m greeted by my parents, my sister(s). I get bowled over by the dog; I stay up late talking; I am usually offered leftovers. I expect this, long before I start thinking of packing. It’s routine, and it’s comforting every time.

But there’s another part of the routine that I’ve always forgotten. That’s when I’m standing alone in my bedroom for the first time in months. I put my bags down. I look around. And then I grab books off their dusty shelves and thumb through them.

I surf sentences at random, smiling at familiar characters or scenes. Eager me, grasping for familiarity of tone, of expression. Old friends. These books are my old friends.

Sometimes I wonder why I bother keeping all these books around if I don’t reread them often. They don’t get lent out, either, since most stay in Chicago rather than travel with me to Iowa. But when I came home over a week ago, I realized that this was why. These books have been loved, and they are loved whenever I pick them up, even if it’s just to feel their heft, their yellowed pages and bent bindings. The merest sentence can send me back to when I was a kid. It can whisper hello. It can embrace. These books are home almost as much as the house they rest in.

How is it I’ve always forgotten about this?

  1. #1 by Zobot on April 1, 2009 - 6:44 pm

    Hey… I’ve been reading your blog lately. I really loved the most recent post you made! A good book is to be treasured as a lifelong companion. Memories get kept on every page.

    I hope life is treating you well.

  2. #2 by nerdychicgeek on April 7, 2009 - 6:32 pm

    You’ve put it into words perfectly. I live surrounded by books, and although I couldn’t keep everything, I still have some from my youth. They make me happy, and for pretty much the reasons you gave.

  3. #3 by probablefutures on April 13, 2009 - 12:39 am

    ❤ I’m glad you guys liked this. Reading a book is such a private moment, almost as if it were between two people, but the feeling is universal.

    Sorry I haven’t been around much, this semester’s keeping me busy. *hugs*

  4. #4 by nerdychicgeek on June 7, 2009 - 8:20 pm

    Hey,we miss seeing you! Just saying hi, and hoping you’re doing well.

  5. #5 by Professor Zobot on June 8, 2009 - 5:26 pm

    I second Chic’s motion. Just a quick question… do you use an IM service or do you have a Facebook account I could friend you on?

    • #6 by probablefutures on June 12, 2009 - 10:29 pm

      Zobot, I’m on AIM as “probable_futures@yahoo.com” (yeah, long username) and my Facebook account is at http://www.facebook.com/probablefutures .

      Sorry for the long absence, guys. -_- I’ll start catching up on MSW this weekend.

      • #7 by Wallycaine on June 19, 2009 - 11:23 am

        Heeheehee, you picked about the same amount of time to take a break as I did, so don’t worry about it. I’m sure Lagos will be happy to see you anyways ^_^

Leave a Reply

