NaNo 2008: The Epilogue

This post is late. Can you believe it? It’s been roughly 17 hours since National Novel Writing Month ended here in good ol’ Des Moines Iowa, and I posted nary an update here. Which is particularly odd, considering that I WON!

I failed twice, but this was indeed my year. 50,103 words written by December 1st, midnight. And now I feel infinite, like Charlie in The Perks of Being a Wallflower, which I read the entirity of yesterday. (It was good, but let’s talk NaNo.) This weekend was almost as bad as I expected. My parents were upset with my decision to NaNo, and I could almost hear my mother crying, “OMG UR DOING IT WRONG.” If it weren’t for Sarah, I might have drowned myself in webcomics or anime right then and there and stopped writing altogether. But I didn’t. And you know what? It was worth the hardship to get here. I know I can do it now. And knowing is my anti-drug, man. ^^

I still have a few thousand left to write to wrap up the story itself, and I need to have it edited and semi-presentable for the Novella class by… well tonight, but that’s not happening. Soon. Very soon.

Doodled on Friday.

Doodled on Friday.

I feel the need to drop some thank yous.  It’s no dedication, but without the following “Spyder, Spyder” would not exist as it is today:

  • Sarah, for telling me that she understood why I needed to do this, and that it was okay for me to write.
  • Anne, who didn’t convince me that I was epic win, but managed to stop me thinking I was epic fail.
  • Josh, who listened to me ramble about my two magic systems for a few hours.
  • Liz, for writing with me that one day.
  • Shannon, Briana, and Dan, who gave me pep talks.
  • Everyone else who wished me luck, or expressed an interest in my progress.
  • All the NaNo forumgoers.  Next time I will lurk less.

I’d also like to thank the word “look,” which apparently was the word I used most (besides the usual suspects – “the,” “and,” “said”). I listened to “Clint Eastwood,” “Weapon of Choice,” “I Must Be Dreaming,” and “Mitternacht” over and over again. Also, “One-Winged Angel” and “The Howling” became my unofficial theme songs for The Final Scene (which actually formed the last third of the story). Thanks go to SiB of the Mad Scientist Wars for “One-Winged Angel,” by the way. It ended up fitting really well.

What do I do now? Well, I planned a couple days of rest. I need to catch up on webcomics, and I own “Requiem from the Darkness” now, so I can rewatch it. But there’s other things that need doing. It’s December, the end of yet another year, and I haven’t done a Breaking the Fourth Wall cartoon yet. Fanart for MSW and Tao of Geek. The Graphics project that I haven’t really started yet. There’s still plenty to do, but at least I can enjoy the ride, right? I did it. I won. I proved myself to myself. The world will follow. ^^

  1. #1 by bloggingexperiments on December 2, 2008 - 7:28 am

    Congrats on your NaNo WIN!!! It is an amazing accomplishment…be proud, be ecstatic, get a good night’s sleep!

  2. #2 by probablefutures on December 2, 2008 - 9:58 pm

    Thank you! I’m looking forward to making up for all the sleep lost indeed! *hugs*

Leave a Reply

