NaNo Confession

I’m still behind on my word count, but I’m writing everyday and getting those words out. I think I know how to reach 50,000 words now – go into my characters’ future, and create a subplot in which their future selves save the world.  Or try to anyway, I’m not sure yet if they succeed. But thanks are largely due to Write or Die!, which has really been forcing me to get those words out. I had no idea that I average 700 words per half-hour! By that estimation, I can easily reach about 2,000 words by simply devoting an hour and a half to writing.

Things are happy and rosy again. Probably not for much longer, though. The Graphics assignment’s due tomorrow, and I’ll probably pull an all-nighter to complete it. Then the ACM contest on Saturday… *shudders* I don’t want to think about that yet.

Since I’m just about out of quick sketches, I was going through my folders looking for other things I could possibly post here. There was a surprising amount, including this gem from my first NaNoWriMo (2006, year of “Areopagus“). Click on the link for a full view, please:

You can tell I still wasn’t comfortable with one style or another, and I had problems with everything. Head shape, consistency, proportions, hands… Ick. 2006 was a bad year for drawing. But 2006 was also the year I started really trying to develop consistency and style, so I can’t help but be a little relieved knowing that this was just an intro to the cartoons I’m now capable of.

Mmm… grande caramel macchiatos. Apparently 2006 was also the year before I switched from ordering cappuccinos to ordering caramel macchiatos.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

