…Which means what exactly?

Happy Halloween! May your bags be full, and may your costumes belie your true identities. ^^

It’s hard for me to believe that it’s the end of October already. Time has been flying by so quickly…

November means that things need to change, though. I can’t do National Novel Writing Month for real this year, since I’ve already started on “Spyder, Spyder.” (Only maybe fifteen pages in, though.) And even if I had the chance, I don’t know if I could take it anyway. As I’ve mentioned, the Mad Scientist Wars have become an addiction. It’s loosened its hold to a manageable level now (I don’t spend every free moment thinking of it; which is the most dangerous indicator of obsession), but I still check it regularly, even if I don’t have the energy to post myself. In the past, I’ve struggled to keep myself from reading webcomics when I could be writing. Webcomics were an old, consistent addiction. Now that I have a new one, I’m not sure how long I can keep myself away.

But I need to work on “Spyder, Spyder.” It’s still a major assignment for class; it must get done. So I’m going to try a faux-NaNoWriMo, even though I’ve started the story already. Rules are the same: reach 50,000+ words by the end of the month. Write about 1,700 words a day.

The question is, what do I do about MSW? I can’t abandon it. Webcomics could wait; Piperka would hold my place for me and I could catch up whenever I wanted (whenever I completed a goal). But MSW requires participation. Should I not complete a goal, I would be harming both projects with my absence. But if I keep up with MSW anyway, what’s the point of a goal-based system? ;_; I’m flummoxed about this. It’s a distraction from the work that needs to be done, but it’s also a creative endeavor in its own right (and so is even more dangerous than a regular addiction).

What I need is to get back to the state of mind I had for the last few days of NaNoWriMo last year, that “clarity in the brain” which led me to write and write and write without regard for distractions. I need to get back there, and I need to maintain it for the month of November. And past November.

Mmm. Tentative set-up:

  • Write at least 1,700 words a day
  • Do not read any webcomics for the entire month
  • Mad Scientist Wars activities only after the day’s writing is done
  • Reward system:
    • 10,000 words – catch up on 5 webcomics of choice
    • 20,000 words – food reward (depends on craving at time, plus finances)
    • 30,000 words – go through 1 webcomic archive (a shorter one)
    • 40,000 words – catch up on 5 webcomics of choice
    • 50,000 words – buy $20 item for self
  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

