23,000 words!

… 27,000 left to go.  Can I hear a “whoop whoop”?  No.  Of course not.  People are beginning to tell me that I don’t have to finish, that I need my rest and sleep.  True, yes, but I’m beginning to get that excitement again, the one that punctuated my first NaNo days, the one that made me fall in love all over again with Minrei, if not her world.

It’s not quite a wild-eyed fury.  It is this inner strength, a clarity in the brain that comes when my every thought has a purpose.  Now that I’m here, I’m amazed that I never found it before.  It’s like saying, “Yeah, I don’t have much time left.  Yeah, I’m only halfway done.  But I will be writing for the rest of the month.  I have to finish.”

I’ve turned down “Mario Cart” and offers of lunch.  I can’t go to Drake Writer’s Night, or Anime Club.  I won’t go on Facebook.  I won’t start my Computer Science project or my math homework or any of my writing assignments (they’re due next week or later).  I am free of commitments.  I have one purpose, and one purpose only – to make it to 50,000 words by Friday, 11:59 pm.

See you soon.

  1. …Which means what exactly? « Dreams To Wake Up To

Leave a Reply

