All-nighters make me nerdier (Discrete Math warning)

I get to see Josh again tomorrow! I am so happy, I’m pulling an all-nighter to get my homework out of the way. Well, okay, so there’s something wrong with that proposition. A truth table would prove it correct, though:

Assuming the following variables:

J means “I get to see Josh”

H means “I am happy”

N means “I pull an all-nighter”

J ^ H -> N (“If I get to see Josh and I am happy, then I pull an all-nighter.”)

J     H     N     J^H     J^H->N

T    T     T        T             T

T    T     F        T             F

T    F     T        F             T

T    F     F        F             T

F    T     T        F             T

F    T     F        F             T

F    F     T        F             T

F    F     F        F             T

As my impromptu truth table clearly shows, the only case that would prove my statement wrong is if I see Josh, am happy, and don’t pull an all-nighter.

But the truth table doesn’t understand that I am pulling an all-nighter for reasons besides seeing Josh. And I can easily say that here, in non-mathematical language: I’m pulling an all-nighter because I am stupid when it comes to managing time. And because I will not wake up easily enough to complete my Poetry and Gender/Technology homework before 8 AM today. ‘Nuff said.

Finally got caught up on my poetry journal entries last night. Let’s post a couple entries, shall we?

There are woodchips underfoot and then
there are not, as we eschew steps
and land on pavement,
faces flushed,
arms outstretched,
still running.
Inside the little pink house on the other side
of the lot, children
slammed plastic shutters
and spat barbs from the cracks
at our approach.
We turned, loped uneasily over
the faded four-square boxes.
The steel cage of the monkey bars never
looked so inviting.

***

We are witnesses to
the
explosion
expansion
squeeze
The waterway now moves
ready for use
to pay back
poverty
since
control
died

***

Sometimes when the wind blows softly over cool, manicured grass, the strands of hair tucked carefully behind my ear rise up to dance sinuously in joy as I walk more freely, pretending to be Medusa.
  1. #1 by Tien on October 2, 2007 - 1:27 pm

    lolz … I love you … to the last minutes of today … ^_^ hohoho

Leave a Reply

