phoenix of a broken song

I’ll be posting old work for awhile – it’s not that I’m not working on newer things, but I feel it’d be nice to get some of my older works out of the way first. For today I present a collection of fragmented poems, little rhymes that get caught in my head but have no real purpose besides sounding pretty and/or mysterious.

i recognize my face there
but it isn’t my face
don’t look in mirrors now
feel out your own place
 
Beware! Beware! Beware!
Heavy as rock, yet flies through the air,
alights in your soul, digs a pit of despair,
Beware! Beware! Beware!
phoenix of a broken song,
patron saint of words gone wrong
a flash of truth
upon my skin,
a message to
the soul within;
a hope to light
a thousand lights:
dry brush of love,
dark pitch of spite.
we smiled upon the gods and said
we do not sleep nor are we dead
from empty street the words repeat
of peace on earth, goodwill to men
  1. #1 by poeticscot on August 3, 2007 - 5:36 am

    Emotive poetic words with such meaning of expression. Enjoyed reading.

Leave a Reply

